The Holidays

It was a relatively quiet Christmas for me.  I didn’t do anything grand, just lounged around with my kindle in hand.  I finished one book, and started another.  I enjoyed it that way.

There was a time when I was big on shopping this time of year.  The excitement of the malls, giving and getting.

If you were to ask before what I wanted for Christmas, What would I have said?  Maybe a new Laptop, because it would be really helpful and convenient, and well, my kindle is getting kind of slow.

I don’t want much.  I’m a simple girl.  I’m content wearing my pajamas all day, curled up with something good to read.  As I scroll through my social media feeds,  I didn’t feel a hint of envy, as folks showed off their Christmas goodies, and experiences.  Sometimes when you feel that something is missing from your life, a feeling of jealousy may wash over you watching people experience what you long for.

There was none of that for me.  My true happiness can’t be measured with things.  Gifts won’t make me genuinely happy.  Sure they provide short term happiness, and instant pleasure, but all the money in the world can’t buy true contentment.

One thought on “The Holidays

Leave a Reply

