So Tell Me About Yourself

Its the first questions in nearly every interview.   I know its coming.  Even with all my preparation, I’ve never quite felt comfortable with my “elevator speech”.  I use to think it was because I thought I sound too rehearsed, but I soon figured out what my problem was.

The first few blog assignments for blogging 101 included  tasks like answering the question “who are you and why are you here”, and working on your “about me” page.

What the tasks and interview question have in common is that they are all about me.  I read this post by fellow blogger, and was immediately like, ME TOO!

I don’t know why I’m so uncomfortable talking about myself.  I like myself.  Maybe its because I think people want to hear something interesting.  Maybe its because I don’t think I’m all that interesting.

I’m just a regular girl.  I love to read, I love various kinds of  music, and willing to give any kind a try.  I love museums, football games, a nice walk , except  while its cold.  I don’t enjoy shopping much, and don’t know a thing about make up.  I’m in my mid twenties, and I’m trying to find my way.  I’ve got my insecurities like everyone else.  I question myself , maybe a little too much, but I’m working on it.  Its all normal though.  Nothing that blows anyone away, I’m just me.

7 thoughts on “So Tell Me About Yourself

  1. I understand exactly what you’re saying. Who knows you better than you? And in what instance do you have to describe you to yourself? You just are…
    I enjoy what I have read from you so far. Keep it up, you’ll find your way. I can’t tell you when, though because I’m a few years older and still looking myself. 🙂

    Followed

    Like

  2. I don’t know why it’s so easy to toot someone else’s horn, but not your own. I’m in charge of social media for my choir and have no problem finding material to post, talking up the shows, or showcasing other members’ talent. Meanwhile my own pages languish as I am too self-conscious to update them, even though I lead a pretty exciting life. If you can figure out how to get past that, let me know!

    Like

Leave a Reply

