Risk Taker

I am anything but.

I’ve always played it safe.

Playing it safe is easy.  It is comfortable.  It is consistent.  It is predictable.

I didn’t beat my chest and excitedly and declare that I would take more risks in the new year.  I may have said it to myself in the shower once or twice, or while I was laying in bed.

Its one thing to say those things to yourself, its another when you have a decision that actually involves some risks.  Playing it safe has always worked for me.   I’ve realize for some time now, that playing it safe has made me complacent.  It isn’t getting me where I want to be.  It is getting me nowhere.

So here I am, I have some decisions to make.  Its scary, but I’m up to taking some risks.

“A ship is safe in harbor, but that’s not what ships are for.”
-John A. Shedd

4 thoughts on “Risk Taker

  1. I’m like you, I like to play it safe. I suppose taking risks is easier said than done! But this year I’m up for taking some risks too; after all, as a friend of mines always tells me, “You gotta risk it for the biscuit.”

    Like

  2. Pingback: Playing It Safe | In Pursuit of Contentment

Leave a Reply

