Playing It Safe

I’ve recently said that I’m no risk taker.  Playing it safe is easy and comfortable but it has been keeping me in the same place.  I won’t reach each my true potential there.  So this girl, who always played it safe, knew there was some decisions to be.  It was time to gamble.

I rolled my first dice.  I took a chance applying for a job through a family friend.  It isn’t exactly what I’m looking for, but I always said I would keep an open mind .  It almost didn’t happen.  I talked myself out of my decision, and then negotiated with myself to delay it.  I changed my mind quite a few times, but weighed my options.  Comfort and familiarity versus, my happiness (or lack thereof),  stifling my potential, and my bigger dreams.

So I went for it.  As of right now, nothing has become of it, and maybe nothing will come of it.  However, I can’t ignore the fact that I did something I was initially so nervous about.  Maybe even afraid of doing.  And it hit me, this isn’t so bad.  This isn’t so hard.  I felt a rush of determination, and motivation, that will give me the drive I need as continue on.

So I’ll be rolling more dices,  and taking more chances.    I don’t know where I’ll end up for sure, but I know one thing, I’m through playing it safe.

8 thoughts on “Playing It Safe

  1. Very relatable post! I have never been one to take chances myself. Only recently I have started to slowly try out some new things and take chances I wouldn’t normally take. It’s definitely like that saying, “You can’t win if you don’t play.” Hope things work out for you!

    Like

  2. Good for you! I say go for it; and if nothing happens with the job, go for another one that might get you out any rut you are in. I wish I did. I’ve been in the same job for 17 years! I too was “too comfortable” and now I’m looking to make a move, and it seems like the world has passed me by. Good luck!

    Like

  3. I’ve always needed structure, one time it was taken away from me and I felt lost.

    Ever since that day I try to do one thing new every day, something that’s out of my comfort zone.

    I will change job in 2 months and I’m still scared, however I’ve learned one thing along the way. I’ve got to know myself, and that something no one can take away from me.

    Thanks for sharing and good luck chasing your “bigger dreams”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

