A Good Kind of Busy

The last few weeks, I have a been filled with optimism.  I have been getting phone calls, and emails with requests for interviews.  So far, no offers, but that is okay.  It is my belief that the more interviews I do, the closer I get to where I’m suppose to be.  In a city like New York, where I imagine the competition is fierce, I believe that you have to make the most out of every opportunity.  And never put all your eggs in one basket, the disappointment really stings when it doesn’t work out.

I’ve gotten more confident with my interviews.  I no longer feel nervous, no matter the company or the position.  Whether I’m being interviewed by one person or two.   In one of my interviews, the manager actually commented on how comfortable I appeared. This was not the case in the beginning.  The very thought of an interview made me nervous.   I’m talking sweaty palms, and shaky voice.  I no longer feel that I have to spend a long time rehearsing.  Too many times, I’ve rehearsed in a mirror, only for my answers to not come out the way I want or for the questions I prepped for not be asked.  Now, I’m not saying you shouldn’t prepare, and rehearse, because you should.  However, for me, things flow more easily when I wasn’t talking like I memorized a script.

I am thankful for every opportunity I get to interview for a position.  While I haven’t received any offers yet, I look at where I was when I started this process, and I really have come a long way.

Leave a Reply

