The Challenge of Making New Friends

Making friends was so much easier when I was in school.  For nearly seven hours a day, seven days a week, you were with the same people.  In some cases, you were with them year after year.  It was easy and convenient to develop a relationship during these grade school and high school.

In college, it was more challenging.  I went to a commuter school.  Many students were grown adults with families, and people with full time jobs.  I met many wonderful people, and we were always friendly, but when the semester was over, we went our separate ways.  We waved at each other if we saw each other around campus, or stopped for a quick chat.

I’m not the most social person, so meeting new people is challenging for me.  However, I’m very friendly once I get pass the initial introduction.  Friendly is all I become.

I know its not about the amount of friends you have.  I have really good friends.  Friends I have had most of my life.  We’ve grown up though, and we’re scattered.  It would really be nice to have someone or a group of people, I could go out with to a new restaurant that I want to try, rather than wait until all our schedules align.

Most of this isn’t about the people I meet, its really about me.  There have been many opportunities to meet new people, but once again, I’m not great in the social department.  I’m also not great with trust, which is essential to any relationship. I keep my guard up, and very few people try to take it down.  And to be completely honest, its very hard for me to let my guard my down.

So while I’m able to be friendly with new people, the slow walk to actually being friends is still a challenge for me.

2 thoughts on “The Challenge of Making New Friends

Leave a Reply

