Too Big To Fail: Fear of Failure….and Success?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Too Big To Fail.”

Tell us about something you would attempt if you were guaranteed not to fail (and tell us why you haven’t tried it yet).

I would attempt to be a full time writer.  I would write books, I would write articles for magazines, and online publications.  It would be my career.  Making my hours, working from where I want to work, doing what I enjoy.  If you tell me that I am sure to succeed, I would start right away.

So why haven’t I given this some serious thought, or make a serious attempt at it.  Well, the answer is pretty simple, fear.

Fear of failing, and in some ways fear of succeeding.

I can remember back in school, when a teacher would return our written assignments after grading them.  There were a few teachers who encouraged us to share our work, and some would volunteer you to share your work.  I think this was where I started to develop a fear for success.  I was painfully shy, and quiet.  Nothing scared me more than having to stand in front of a class, and read my poems, and other writings.

I had a English teacher who encouraged me to sign up for the school newspaper.  I quit shortly after I started.  The thought of the entire school reading my work was intimidating.

Then there’s the idea of failure.

What scared me most about success was the attention it would bring. I’ve always been intimidated when I knew all eyes were on me.  Failure though would hurt.  It would mean that what I believed about myself was not true.  I can put on a good face for the sake of all the attention I would get if I were to succeed, but there would be no pretending if I were to fail.  Failure would mean that I wasn’t as good as I thought I was.  That would absolutely rock my self esteem.  That could take time some time to come back from.

I know that the “no guarantees” is what makes the journey to success fulfilling. I also know that the “no guarantees” is what keeps many from trying.

Leave a Reply

