We Build This City…If I were Mayor

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “We Built This City.”

What do you love most about the city / town / place that you live in? What do you like the least about it? If you were mayor, what would be the most important problem you’d tackle? How would you tackle it?

I live in New York City.  More specifically Brooklyn.

I love my city.  I love the diversity of my city.  I love the various kinds of people you can come across in one day.  I love our museums, our botanical gardens, our zoos, our restaurants, I love our sport teams.  I love rooting against the Yankees, and I love rooting for my Mets. I love the over all fast pace of it all.

There is so much I love about my city, but I’ve watched it change.  There are very few real New Yorkers.  So many are transplants chasing a life they’ve read and dreamed about.  We’re seeing neighborhoods change.  People can’t afford to stay in there own neighborhoods any more.  The constant building of high rises, that go unoccupied because so very few people can afford it.  I’m not trying to sound political, but the line between the haves and the haves not are so far in between, they hardly see each other.

If I were Mayor the first problem, I would tackle is Education.  Specifically “failing schools”.  I don’t understand how closing a “failing school”, addresses the problem at him.  It seems to be a easy solution because people are too lazy to try.

I would improve our public places like Libraries, with free workshop and classes.

No more vacant high rises.  perhaps a rule that 60-70 percent of the units need to rented/sold when the building is fully completed, and the owner or building management is taking on buyers or renters.

The public transit system has been can’t continue to drain the pockets of New Yorkers.  The price goes up almost every other year, and since there are no other options, people will pay, because there is no other choice.  My solution is to create another choice.  At the rate we its going, I fear we will be paying  $5 for a one way trip.

I don’t think the minimum wage should be $15, but I don’t think it should be $8.75 either…atleast in NYC.

One thought on “We Build This City…If I were Mayor

Leave a Reply

