Three Songs

Today’s Prompt ask that we write about the three most important songs in your life – and what they mean to you.

My first response was only three? And just how important were some of my favorite songs to me?  I love music.  I love all kinds of music.  I have always been a fan of the lite FM stations, and went to sleep with them often during my younger years, at a time when my taste for music included Backstreet Boys, NSync, Destiny’s Child, and nearly any rap group from that time. That is  why it is so hard to pick three songs.

At a time when I was loving boy bands, I was also falling in love with Elton John, Fleetwood Mac, Madonna, Marvin Gaye, Al Green, Stevie Wonder, Aerosmith, and I could go on and on.  My taste knows no limit to genre and time period.

I think I can smile and cry when I hear What a Wonderful World by Louis Armstrong.  The man, the voice, the lyrics, whats there not to love.  I love that this is the view from many windows in many neighborhoods around the world.

The colors of the rainbow so pretty in the sky
Are also on the faces of people going by
I see friends shaking hands saying how do you do
But they’re really saying is I love you.

I’m not sure about the first song I ever from Fleetwood Mac.  I think it was Dreams, and loved it almost as soon as we I heard it.  However, Landslide turned out to be absolute favorite.  It used to be just another song I would hear on the radio, but as I was growing and changing, it wasn’t just another song on the radio.

Oh, mirror in the sky
What is love?
Can the child within my heart rise above?
Can I sail through the changin’ ocean tides?
Can I handle the seasons of my life?

The prompt asked for three, and as I said it was hard to choose because I love music.  This was a toss up between songs from two of my favorite movies, The Bodyguard and the Titanic.  I loved both movies, and both soundtracks.   For this assignment, I will choose I Will Always Love You.  This  is an amazing love song, and the vocals are such that many have tried and fail to emulate it.

Bittersweet memories
That is all I’m taking with me
So, goodbye
Please, don’t cry
We both know I’m not what you, you need

Music means different things for different people.  It can mean different things just based on where you in your life.  I found this assignment to be a challenging because as I listen to music, I’ve never really thought about how certain songs have impacted life.  There are songs that have more of a place in my memory, but I’ve never thought about how they may or may not have impacted me.

2 thoughts on “Three Songs

Leave a Reply

