Character Building Experience

Today’s Prompt: Who’s the most interesting person (or people) you’ve met this year?

In my work, I interact with countless people every day.  People from every age group, gender, sexual orientation and racial demographics.   Its probably one of my favorite things about my job.  I get to interact with people I likely would not have interacted.  What I’ve realized is, there are so many interesting stories out there, from every day people.  We wouldn’t know because so many of us have our head phones on, and are focus soley on our phone.

I can’t pinpoint any one person who I would describe as the most interesting person I’ve met so far this year because I have met so many interesting people.  Each with a story that is unique to them.

I think the  special needs teachers and their teacher’s aide  who come in my job every few weeks are interesting.  They have a hard job, and I’ve never them frustrated or angry.  I love watching them interact wit their students.  I love how they encourage them, giving them confidence to be independent.  Eventually, developing a relationship with the rest of the staff.

I think the nannies who come into my work place are interesting.  Many of them have the same stories yet the very different.  Women from the third  world working for a better life in America.  I like hearing the stories about their country, and what led them here.  I also enjoy the relationship they have with their young charges.  All them similar yet so different.

I meet new people every day.  I can’t get to know each person intimately, but we can all spend just few minutes talking to each other.  You would be surprise what can happen with a “how are you today?”

4 thoughts on “Character Building Experience

  1. A lovely perspective and I agree with you. We all have our own stories, dramas, hopes and fears… I also have much admiration for people who do the hard work of caring for others and who take big risks, like leaving their home countries and all that is familiar to them, is search of a better life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

