Give and Take

My sister and I, we’re not very much alike.  I’m going to make this clear.  I love my sister, and we have a great relationship.  We are though, very different.  Those differences don’t impact our relationship negatively.  They are what make our relationship.  I can’t imagine what it would be like if we were more alike.  In fact, I’ve never given it thought.  We are who we are, and that is what makes us  who we are.

My sister is very social.  I’m not social.

My sister flourishes is social situations.  I’m overwhelmed.

My sister takes chances.  I prefer to play it safe.

My sister always has a smile on her face.  I wear my emotions on face even if I never say it out loud.

My sister spends her doing fun things like movies, concerts, dinners.  I prefer a quiet night at home with a book.

My sister is very fashion forward.  I’m more conservative in my fashion.  Preferring comfort over style.

My sister was a good student.  I was an okay student.  I had to work really hard for my Bs.

My sister easily makes friend.  I have a hard time making friends and starting new relationships.

My sister is street smart.  I’m not as hip to the street, but I’m not far behind.

I often look at my sister awe.  I wish I could do some of things she does.  I often wish I could be the person striking up conversation at the party, who knows everyone’s name, their kid’s name.  I’m not that person.  I’ve tried to be that person, and I’ve realize its just not me.  I’ve accepted that, and I’m always working becoming the best me.

Often, my sister has to carry the load because she knows there are just some things I’m never going to do on my own.  She happily does it, with no animosity on her part. She’s also encouraged me and pushed when I talk myself out of things out of fear.

We balance each other.  I have the ability to reel her back in and she pushes me.

Writing 101- Day 7 Give and Take

Prompt: Write a post based on the contrast between two people, objects, emotions, places or something else.

3 thoughts on “Give and Take

Leave a Reply

