Fears and Anxieties

The Prompt States:

We all have anxieties, worries, and fears. What are you scared of? Address one of your worst fears.

One of my biggest fears is that I will never reach my full potential.  I fear that I will never know what I am capable of.  I am afraid that I will always be too afraid to take chances.  I’m afraid that any chances I take will result in a negative outcome.  I am afraid that all of my fears and anxiety will lead to life where I constantly wonder, “what if?”.

Many people tackle the life with exuberance.  No matter how daunting a task or how the odds are stacked against them, they are always positive and up beat. I on the other hand, tackle everything with apprehension.  I’ve told friends that my problem is that I think too much.  I start thinking about how many ways things could go wrong.  Never considering that they could right.

These anxieties and fears have always been with me most of my life.  I’ve always been this way.  Now that I’m getting older, my biggest fear is that my fear is holding me back, and will continue to hold me back.

I watch as so many of my peers make strides in their lives.  I’m excited and happy for them.  However, it leads me back to myself.  “What about you”, I’ll ask myself.  Then my inner debates start.  There is never a clear winner.  It can be argued that my fear wins every time, I choose to not make a decision.  I’ve acknowledge that, but I’ve chosen to ignore that thought.

I know what I want, and fear keeps me from going after it. These fears keep me in place.  In exactly the same place, exactly as I am.  And that is my biggest fear.  I don’t want to be in the same place.

One thought on “Fears and Anxieties

  1. You know, I’m 58, and fear never goes away, but what you learn as you go is that you can handle things in a way no one else can…. …I sound like my MOM…yikes! You will find your way and the thing you call success.

    Like

Leave a Reply

