Not Failing

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Must Not Fail.”  What is the one thing at which you are the most afraid of failing?

I’m sure everyone has their own definition of failure.  For me, I’m most afraid of failing myself.  I’m not talking about a list of things I want to accomplish.  I’m talking about not making the attempt, not even trying.  I’d rather try and fall, than cowardly not try at all. At least, I could look at myself in the mirror, and know I gave it my best shot. I do not see that as failure.

I’m most afraid that I will allow my fear of failure to lead me  down a path where I do not take the risks necessary to get the answers to the questions I need.  Do things work out the way I want, or do they not?  It is a real fear, but what is worse, is never knowing. We all have expectations of ourselves, and goals.  Some we voice, some we don’t.  Its there in all of us.  When I can look at myself, and be satisfied, I know that I have not failed myself.

Leave a Reply

