If I leave

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “If You Leave.”

Its a question I ask myself every time I consider leaving my job.  It’s what I ask when I think about leaving New York City.  These aren’t easy decisions, and not decisions that I can make on impulse.  Yet I have major admiration for people who can do these things on impulse.

The downside to leaving my job is that I don’t have another one lined up.  So while I want to leave, to leave without something lined up would be very irresponsible.  The upside is limitless. Maybe I’ll find a job where I will be happy and enjoy what  I do, where I look forward to coming into work every day, and the jump in pay goes without saying.

Leaving your city is equally hard.  The upside of leaving the city is starting fresh somewhere new.  A new city means new friends, and new opportunities.  The downside is leaving your family and friends, which is not easy.

I realize that you have to do something that scares you.  No matter how big your fear, you have to go for it.  Its easier said than done.  Its why I admire people who take these chances, sometimes without hesitation.  The person who goes across the country to be apart of a startup, the person who leaves their job to become a full time blogger, and the person who leaves their good paying job because they were unhappy.  I wish I had even just a little bit of their courage.

2 thoughts on “If I leave

  1. I really resonate with this post…I just decided to leave San Francisco and go back to my hometown of San Diego. I’ve been in SF for over a year and loved it, but it’s not my city, I don’t see a future here for myself. I’m SO excited to go back to San Diego, it just feels right. I don’t have a job lined up yet, but I trust myself and the Universe. haha It’s exciting because it is a clean, new slate, but it’s also a little nerve-wracking too. Best of luck to you! I really love reading your blog- I resonate with a lot of what you say. I’m a fellow mid-20s gal in a big city trying to learn more about herself and follow her true, authentic voice. xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

