One Word Prompt: Regret

From Oxford Dictionary:

a feeling of sadness, repentance, or disappointment over something that has happened or been done:

I have many regrets.  My biggest problem is not that I made the choices I made, but that I look back often on those decisions.  Too often.  I can’t seem to let go.

Choices were made, outcomes were outcomes, and there is simply nothing  I can do about it.  It doesn’t stop me from replaying things in mind though.

I think I believe that the choices I made were the wrong ones, and the other option was the right one.  When in reality, I really don’t know.  Either choice could of lead me to where I am, which is thinking about the choice I didn’t make.

The problem with regret is how you let it affect you.  Letting go isn’t easy for me, so I find myself replaying things in my mind.  Its no use, it won’t change anything, but there are times when I can’t seem to help myself.

Chalking things up to a learning experience is obvious, putting it into practice is the hard part.

Leave a Reply

