Just You

Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.”
Dr. Seuss

There was a time when I would try to fit in.  I thought being like everyone else would make things easier.  It wasn’t easy, it was too much on me to be something  I wasn’t.

I remember trying to fit in the first few weeks of middle school.  I thought I was suppose to be like the other kids, and it would be easier to make friends, but I soon realized that I didn’t like some of my potential friends, and to continue the friendship would make things harder for me in long run.  They were outgoing, and boisterous.  I was quiet, laid back, easy-going, and far from outgoing.  I couldn’t keep that up long-term.  I couldn’t do it.

As I grew up, I had a hard time figuring out where I belong, so I’d often find myself amongst people like the kids from middle school.  It wasn’t on purpose, it was just the way things turned out.

By high school, I think I had found my niche.  I didn’t figure it out completely, but I was on my way.  I had a great group of friends.  Friends who just accepted me just the way I am.  Quiet, laid back and not a social butterfly. They knew I was never going to dress to be trendy, but for comfort.  They tease about my love for reading but with good fun.  They didn’t get offended when I didn’t go to a particular party, because they weren’t expecting me, but the surprise on their faces when I did show, made my discomfort worth it.

What I learned was, I’m a little different, but there is nothing wrong with that.  Things will fall into place.  I don’t have to be anyone but myself.  Friendships and relationships are stronger when your secure in who you are.  I am what I am and I feel no pressure to be anyone else.  I’m just me.


Writing 101 Day 5:  Hook em with a quote. Use a quote or passage from something you’ve read to introduce your post.

2 thoughts on “Just You

  1. Wow. You put that really well. I identify you with the quiet, not social and not outgoing. I’m not laid back though and I never tried to fit in with more outgoing and boisterous people. However, I did seem to draw some to me. It kind of makes life more interesting to accept yourself as you are while having friends who are pretty different from you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

