Where I Write

I do most of my writing in bedroom.  My desk sits near a window, but it isn’t much of a view.  No views of the New York City skyline, and no views of Central Park.  Just a few park cars, and the back of neighbors’ houses. The walls are thin, so I may or may not have quiet.  Sometimes I wonder how it is, that I do any writing here, but it’s my space.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always written in my bedroom. If it wasn’t at my desk, I wrote while I was in bed.  I’ve written in other places of course.  I’ve written in class, libraries, and even on the train, but I’ve never felt as comfortable as I do writing in my room.

My room isn’t all that special either.  There isn’t any great art on the walls.  No inspirational  quotes hanging or painted on the walls. Pictures of family and friends are framed. My love for books is apparent, even as I’m all in with e-readers.  My love for music also apparent as I still have a healthy CD collection.  Some days are neater than others.

It may sound bland, but it is my room.  It is where I do my best work.  Not just writing, but meditating, thinking, and finding focus.  Its where I’ve made tough decisions. It is perhaps where I’m most comfortable,  even when I’m uncomfortable.  Its where I felt safe enough to let myself fall apart, unknowingly to anyone else.  It is where I had fight to put myself together again.  It is where I am not afraid to be vulnerable.

All in all, I guess its not so hard to see why I write in my little room.  It is my comfort zone. All I need in my writing space is quiet, not even music playing in the background.  I just need to hear myself think, and feel.   I didn’t intend for it to be that way,  but things work out on their own.  I may find a new place to write, but for now, it is my space.


Writing 101 Day 6: Where do you write? Do you prefer blogging on your laptop in a coffee shop? Are you productive in a quiet room, door closed, away from civilization? Today, describe the space where you write.

8 thoughts on “Where I Write

  1. ” It may sound bland, but it is my room. It
    is where I do my best work. Not just
    writing, but meditating, thinking, and
    finding focus. Its where I’ve made tough
    decisions. It is perhaps where I’m most
    comfortable, even when I’m
    uncomfortable. Its where I felt safe
    enough to let myself fall apart,
    unknowingly to anyone else. It is where I
    had fight to put myself together again. It
    is where I am not afraid to be vulnerable.”

    whaouh! It’s clear you’ve found your place! God Job.

    where is the “contact me” page for the suggestions?

    Like

Leave a Reply

