Paris

Feelings of sadness have been with me since the news broke yesterday.  I tried to go about the day, doing normal things. I even went into the city for a quick trip.  I couldn’t shake it.  I couldn’t shake it because I know what Parisians are feeling.  It was September 11, 2001 for us. The shock, the horror, the sadness, and trying to come to grips with what has happened.  Then the realization that things have changed.  Even though in the moment, you can’t pinpoint what those things are.

I can’t make sense of any of it.  The evil, and the loss of life.  I think of the people who were enjoying an evening at the restaurant, those who were enjoying their favorite sport, and those who were taking in a concert.  A normal Friday night for many.  Then I remembered those who went to work on that Tuesday in September fourteen years ago.  How they likely went into work, ready to tackle another day at work.  A normal Friday night, and a regular work day. What happened is just unimaginable.  The pain for the families, and loved ones, is almost too much for me to think about.

I wish I had something more profound to say.  So much sadness for the loss of life and fear for the world we’re living in.

One thought on “Paris

  1. Things like this affect me so much too. I have to stay away from it and only take it in small chunks at a time or it overwhelms me too much and I can’t function very well. The 9/11 thing, I was so young. It affected me a lot but I don’t remember the effect on me quite as much anymore. It’s still awful and will forever be etched in my mind but the blow has softened a bit. One recently that affected me so much was the Boston Marathon bombing. It was all over the news and I was in a funk for weeks. I’ve learned since then that I need to take a step back and not immerse myself in those events. Just pray for the people and the countries it affects.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

