Over Coffee

If we were having coffee right now….I’d hope you let me do most of the talking.  Sometimes, I just need someone to listen.  I’d hope you understand me, but at the very least, I hope you try to understand.

If we were having coffee right now…I would tell you I haven’t accomplished anything I set out to do, and that it bothers me.  It bothers a lot.

If we were having coffee right now….I would tell you how good it feels to voice my feelings at work.  I don’t like conflict, and love to keep the peace, even if its to my own detriment, but no more. I’ve been using my voice, and I have no intention of backing down.

If we were having coffee right now….I would tell you that this introvert totally rock the career fair last week.  Large crowds, being sociable, networking with attendees and recruiters alike, that is a big deal for me.  I don’t know what might come from the event, but I walked out of there feeling different.  Feeling more confident about events like this, than I ever had before, and with a lesson than I am more than I think I am.

If we were having coffee right now….I would tell you about that I’m not prepared for grad school, and wouldn’t make the deadliness for the Fall semester.  After visiting a few open houses, talking with admission counselors, I knew my chances were pretty slim.  Its still a goal, but I worry if I delay once again, if I’ll ever go.

If we were having coffee right now….I would tell you how I threw out a few stories I had written in a notebook a few years ago.  I wish I had kept them.  Maybe I would of published them.

If we were having coffee right now….I would tell you my mother is getting harder one me.  I don’t blame her, because it’s justified.  Just wish for a little understanding, but it is what it is.

If we were having coffee right now…I would have a latte, with a warm roll.

3 thoughts on “Over Coffee

  1. This post is so hard on yourself. All I can say is your still so young, you have plenty of time to go to grad school if you wish and to accomplish your goals. I’ll also throw out there that I’ve been out of college for the past 6 years and my experience has been that you don’t always need a graduate degree to succeed, life experience is just as, if not more important! Keep up the great work!

    Like

  2. If we were having coffee right now, I would congratulate you for this really good blog, for pushing yourself out of your comfort zone at the job fair. I’d tell you to keep your heart tender toward your mother only because you only get one and in time you’ll be amazed at how much better you understand how she is now. Or maybe not. Either way, you’ll be a better person for it. I entirely agree with Wicked Brilliant Blog’s comment. Figure out what you’re good at and put your best into that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

