A Mundane Day

The writing 101 assignment instructed to recreate a single day.  I found this assignment quite challenging, and didn’t know which way to go with, but I gave it my best shot.

The alarm sounded at 6:00am.

I’m not working today, why is the alarm going off.

It would be 6:30am before I made a move to get up. Even when I don’t work, I still follow a routine. Prefer the gym early than later in the morning. Less people, means more available machines.

I leave the house at 7:15, and arrive at the gym at 7:30. There quite a few television sets. Some with 24 hours news, others with you daily morning television shows. Admittedly though, this is where I get my news, catching up on things that I may not care about, but will keep me in the know.

I leave the gym at 10:00. At 10:30, I have my post workout snack, while wondering how I will spend my day off. Am I up for the rush of the city, or should stay in with  a book. After all, I will be busy right through the weekend. There won’t be a lot of time for me time. What does the rest of day looks like weather wise. If its going to colder, I probably won’t want to go to the city, and its already feeling brisk.

At 11:30, I hit the shower, still unsure of what I’m going to do, but leaning towards doing nothing. At 12 pm, I start looking for an outfit. I’m still not sure about what I’m doing, but I like to be prepared. At 1:30, I start to get dressed. I’m going to spend some time at the college library getting some work done. I’m more incline to be more focus outside my home.

At 2:00, I’m feeling hungry so I stop by a nearby pizza shop and eat quickly because I want to get a good spot in the library. At 2:12, I have found a spot in the library. I get to work. Its pretty quiet in here today. I check my personal emails, work email, send follow up emails about jobs, send out new resumes, check social media, and finally decided to work on the latest writing 101 assignment while I’m here.

At 5:00, I start packing up my things and leave the campus. There is a new coffee spot nearby. I go in to check it out. Its clearly targeted toward college students, but who doesn’t want to try a new eatery. The baked goods look good, and the sandwiches look great. There is a line though. Students on their way to evening classes or those who are leaving classes for the day. I decide not to wait, I’ll just have dinner when I get home.

The cable box read 6:03 when I came in the door. I still wonder if I should have made better use of my time or if I should have pent the day on the couch. There wasn’t any hard work involved in my day so I’m okay with it.

I eat dinner at 8, and sign into WordPress to check the latest writing 101 assignment. I start prepping for bed at 10 because it is back to work tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

