Reading and Community

“We read to know we’re not alone.”

— William Nicholson, Shadowlands

One of my favorite things about reading was recognizing some of myself in the characters of some of my favorite books.  Whether it is sharing a favorite color, food, or weird character quirks, there is something special about finding a connection to something you read.

The internet constantly lets me know I am not a lone.  I know social media can get a bad wrap because it sometimes brings out the worse in the anonymity of internet.  However, it is hard to ignore some of the great things that have happened.  Whether it is a quote posted on Instagram, Facebook, or Twitter, you realize that you share the the same feelings as the person who posted.  I often find yourself wondering why they may have posted it, because I understood why it struck a cord with me.

One of my favorite things about blogging is the feeling of community and camaraderie I feel with other bloggers.  It is an incredible feeling to read something from another blogger, that I felt I could have written myself.  After reading a post that has had an impact on me, I usually follow the blog, or the website.  Finding blogs that are relatable is the ultimate, “you are not alone”.  It lets me know that there are many people like myself, who are walking the same the the road that I am.  It is encouraging and It is comforting.

 

One thought on “Reading and Community

Leave a Reply

