Martin Luther King, Jr.

lifes-most-persistent-and-urgent-question-is-what-are-you-doing-for-others-happy-martin-luther-king-day

Today is Martin Luther King Day.  It is a national holiday.  Our public schools and libraries are closed, some of the courts are closed, there isn’t any postal services, and many people are off from work today. All because of a holiday to honor this man, who played a prominent role in the fight for civil rights.

Today is also a National Day of Service.   We are encouraged to see this day not just as a day off from work.  It is a day where we are encouraged to give our time in our communities, and even outside our communities.  A senior home, your local pantry, homeless shelters, Veteran Services,  any place where we can serve, we are encouraged to do so.

One of my goals for this year was to  become active in volunteering activities around the city as I had been in the past.  I’m happy that I have been making good on that goal, and intend for it to be apart of my normal.  When I volunteer, I’ve feel like I’m making a impact of someone no matter how small the task.  Whether it is packing bags at a local pantry, sorting donated clothing or a English conversation group, I feel like I’m making a difference. The appreciation shown, makes me want to do more, and there is no measuring that.

Lastly, we can’t have Martin Luther King day without acknowledging how important he was to the fight for civil rights.   My admiration for this man has grown so much since I first learned about him as a child, and as black Caribbean American, seeing the world now through adult eyes.   I now really understand how much he risked, I now understand the  discipline needed for civil disobedience, and I hear parts of his speeches I didn’t hear before.  So we’ve come a long way, but we shouldn’t be complacent, we should always find ways to be better.

“Everybody can be great…because anybody can serve. You don’t have to have a college degree to serve. You don’t have to make your subject and verb agree to serve. You only need a heart full of grace. A soul generated by love.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

