Going For It

One of my goals for the New Year was to do more of what scares me.  It is so much easier said that done.  It is so much easier, when your feeling optimistic, and upbeat.  I’ve made some purposeful strides in this area.  Some of which I hope to share later on.  What I’ve learned is, just because you’ve made a up your mind to do something, doesn’t make the fear go away.

I believed making up my mind wasn’t just the first step, it was the biggest step.  It now made it real.  This was going to happen now, because I am going to make this happen.  I’m not just saying it, I intend it. Still fear lingered, and doubt hovered.  I didn’t expect to feel so much fear and have so many doubts.  At first,  I thought they were legitimate reasons I created to justify some of my decisions.  But here I am, ready to go, and the voices of fear and doubt were ready to go with me.

Some of my fears may be legitimate, but I know that I’ll never know whats on the other side until I go after it.  Maybe fear is suppose to travel with me on this journey.  Maybe it is suppose to make me stronger, build character.  It is all new territory for me.  I’ve never been one to take much chances.  My fear of failing would leave me doing nothing.  So no more “what ifs” or “should haves”.  I’m going all the way.

6 thoughts on “Going For It

  1. Good on ya! Fear is actually not a bad thing, if you ask me. Fear is good. Fear keeps us motivated. Fear helps us feel alive. And it is through facing our fears that we evolve and learn more from life. Instead of trying to avoid the fear or make it go away – acknowledge it and embrace. Let it come along and show it that you don’t mind it doing so. That’s how you get rid of fear (until it comes along for another journey). Fear is part of life, and it can be both scary and interesting and even fun to face. So go for it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

