New Year

I spent the last few days of 2016, mostly reflective.  How could you not.  The new year was days away.  So on the last day of the year, as I folded laundry, and sat over a shredder, I thought back on the year.

I  have a second job.  Working two jobs is difficult, and ideally, I would love to have one full time job.  However, I’m very thankful that I was able to receive this opportunity.  I am always challenged, and I am continuing to learn about myself with each new opportunity.  Some of the things I’ve learn has surprised me, and helping my confidence that is sometimes low.  I’ve also met some amazing people, who are kind, and easy to talk to.

I spoke up.  In both jobs, I am in constant contact with various people.  Sometimes, they test your boundaries, challenge your authority.  I found myself speaking up more, defending myself, standing firm in my positions.  It surprised me how easy it came to me.  I don’t like confrontation, and avoidance is usually my answer.

I applied to graduate school.  I got in.  I start in the spring.  I’m about five years removed from undergraduate, so I am a bit nervous, but also very anxious to get started.

There were highs and lows.  There were good times, and there were not so good times.  There were success and there was failure.  There was growth.

So 2017?

I want to continue to build on the positives of 2016. I want to continue to grow and challenge myself.  I will be investing in myself, and pouring more into me.  It may sound selfish but self care, physically and mentally is a priority.  There’s no shame in putting yourself at the top of the list.  I won’t say yes when I mean no. I won’t let fear hold me back.

via Daily Prompt: Year

 

 

Leave a Reply

